ISP Journal

ISP Journal

ISP Journal is an edition of IOS Press and is edited by the International Shipbuilding Progress Foundation.

The International Shipbuilding Progress Foundation

The Dutch International Shipbuilding Progress (ISP) Foundation is founded on December 18, 1987 and seated at Delft, The Netherlands.


The aims of the ISP Foundation were formulated as follows:

- Promoting of the interest for the study of maritime technology.
- Publishing the international technical scientific Journal on the subject of maritime technology,
  being 'International Shipbuilding Progress'.
- To do anything that in the broadest sense relates to the first two aims or that will promote these.

ISP Governing Board

The Board of the International Shipbuilding Progress (ISP) Foundation has been composed over the years as follows:

W. Spuyman MSc Chairman 1987 - 2005
Prof. N. Dijkshoorn Secretary/treasurer 1987 - 2004
L.A.S. Hageman MSc Secretary/treasurer  2004 - 2013
S.G. Tan MSc Member 2004 - 2013
W. Veldhuyzen Ph.D. Chairman 2005 - present
J.T. Ligtelijn MSc Secretary/treasurer 2013 - present
A.W. Vredeveldt MSc Member 2013 - present


Period 1954 - 1987

Starting from September 1954 the Journal 'International Shipbuilding Progress' was published by Mr. G. Zanen, owner of the publishing company “International Periodic Press”, in co-operation with an editorial team, which included some professors of TU Delft and an employee of the (then existing) Netherlands Ship Research Centre TNO in Delft.

Upon the passing of Mr. G. Zanen on March 3, 1972, publishing the Journal ISP was continued by his son G.P. Zanen. Upon his passing on June 7, 1986, publishing ISP was continued by his wife Mrs S. Zanen-Bruin. In the fall of 1987 she informed the editorial team that she wished to cease her task of publishing the Journal.

Subsequently the ISP Foundation was established by W. Spuyman and Prof. N. Dijkshoorn, who at that time both were members of the editorial team of the Journal. They also formed the first board of the Foundation, as chairman and secretary/treasurer respectively.

Period after 1987

The publishing of the Journal ISP was continued after 1987, in first instance in an informal way by the  Library of the TU Delft, department Delft University Press (DUP).

In 1988 a first agreement was established between the Foundation ISP and the Library of the TU Delft about printing and  distributing the Journal ISP.

A new agreement, in which more formal terms between the Foundation ISP and the Library of the TU Delft were laid down, is dated August 25, 2004. Among others it was agreed that DUP obtained the exclusive right from the Foundation ISP to publish the Journal ISP. In relation to that, the Editorial Board of the Journal ISP became the responsibility of the DUP, albeit that always one member of the Governing Board of the Foundation ISP is a member of the Editorial Board of the Journal ISP.

In March 2005 the Governing Board of the TU Delft informed the Foundation ISP that the DUP would be taken over by IOS Press as per January 1, 2006. It was then agreed with the Foundation ISP that this would include the right to publish the Journal ISP. The basis for the latter still is the agreement between the Foundation ISP and the Library of the TU Delft (DUP) of Augustus 25, 2004.

Editorial Board

The Editorial Board of the Journal ISP, which is chaired by Dr. ir. P.R. Wellens, Assistant Professor of Hydromechanics at TU Delft, has been composed as follows:




Main research areas

P.R. Wellens PhD (*) TU Delft NL Hydrodynamics: Wave loads on offshore constructions and low speed vessels
M. van der Eijk MSc (**) TU Delft NL Numerical ship hydrodynamics, wave impacts
 H. Boonstra MSc TU Delft (ret.) NL Strength of ships and offshore-constructions
 G. Bulian PhD Univ. of Trieste I Ship stability, dynamics and safety
 P. Corigliano PhD Univ. of Messina I Fatigue of Structures and Materials
 J. Downes PhD Univ. of Southampton UK Strength of ships and Fluid-structure-interaction
 R.C. Dragt MSc TNO NL Strength of ships, ice, materials
 Prof. J.J. Hopman TU Delft NL Ship design
 Prof. R.H.M. Huijsmans TU Delft (ret.) NL Sea keeping and Ocean engineering
 Prof. J.M. Falzarano Texas A&M Univ. USA Sea keeping and Ocean engineering
 P. de Jong PhD MARIN NL Hydrodynamics, Seakeeping and Stabiity
 Prof. S. Krüger TU Hamburg D Ship design, hydrodynamics
 J.T. Ligtelijn MSc  (***) MARIN (ret.) NL Ship Propulsion and Cavitation
 Prof. C. van Rhee TU Delft NL Dredging Engineering
 C.M. Rizzo PhD Univ. of Genoa I Ship strength, fatigue, fluid-structure interaction, stability
 Prof. G. Thomas Univ. College London UK Fluid-structure interaction, hydrodynamics, full scale measurement, model testing and design
 S. Toxopeus PhD MARIN NL Hydrodynamics, Manoeuvring, CFD
 C. Veldhuis PhD MARIN NL Hydrodynamics, ship powering, CFD, optimisation
 K. Visser MSc TU Delft NL Marine Engineering

(*) Chief Editor
(**) Editorial Office Manager
(***) Member representing the ISP Foundation

Interested in publishing your paper in the ISP Journal?

If you are interested in publishing your scientific article or paper in the ISP Journal, we kindly ask you to submit it through the formal channel, which can be found on the ISP publisher's website:

Then go to 'Manuscript submission and author instructions'. There you can find a link to the journal's editorial management system, where you can submit your article.

After receiving your article, the editors will continue with it.

Good Luck!



© Copyright MKC - 2022